Skip to content

Fright School!

Posted in apps, holiday, picture book lesson, and reading skills

Last week in the Jackson Library, first graders had fun with a new spooky story, Fright School, by Janet Lawler. There are excellent vocabulary words in the story, so I created an interactive poster with words and corresponding pictures. We used context and the fun illustrations to determine the meanings of the words. During check out, we had fun with Amanda Noll’s I Need My Monster interactive storybook app and no spooky library lesson would be complete without doing The Monster Shuffle dance at the end!

words studied: scolds, seeping, relish, foul, clutch, quake, peer

 

 Fright School

Author site, video, quiz

Fright School lesson

I Need My Monster book app

Janet Lawler’s site

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Skip to toolbar